National Homebrew Competition

NHCmedalThe American Homebrewers Association¬†National Homebrew Competition is the world’s largest international beer competition recognizing the most outstanding homebrewed beer, mead, and cider produced by amateur brewers worldwide.

In 2017, 8,618 entries from 3,530 homebrewers were judged at twelve first round judge centers across the United States. First Round winners advance to the Final Round of the competition at the AHA National Homebrewers Conference. Final Round winners receive gold, silver or bronze medals in 28 style categories.

In 1979, 34 entries competed in the first AHA National Homebrew Competition held in Boulder, Colorado.

Visit for information on how to enter the competition, opportunities to volunteer as a judge or steward, and winners lists from past years!